Hello World!

March 24, 2009 at 1:14 pm (Uncategorized)

I am addicted. Not to an expensive and unhealthy drug but comparable inconvenient and annoying – reality TV.

Before I go into details I should introduce myself: I am Bettina and I am 25 years old. I study “International Media and Entertainment Management “ in the Netherlands I can state that I have seen a lot from the world so far. I am passably smart and not easy to fool. How come then when switching through TV channels I skip the news, documentaries and independent movie productions and end up watching America´s next Top Model, Paris Hiltons new BFF or Miami Ink? Aren´t reality shows only for people with too much time and a boring life? Why do I watch these shows when I already suspect that 50 percent of the show is probably planned before hand and not as real as it tries to appear?

When friends of mine discover this hidden side of mine I always know I should be embarrassed for the consumption of this kind of entertainment. They look at me and wait for some lame excuses or stammer explanations. But to be honest: Most of the time I am not embarrassed. I rather try to get the other persons hooked to the particular show, which most of the time works. This usually surprises them more than it does me. But in the end everyone is watching at least one reality show regularly. There are just too many to choose from and they spread in every possible direction. Some of them are well hidden like Pimp my Ride, Hells Kitchen or Trigger Happy TV.

Nowadays it seems almost difficult to avoid shows with the reality touch.

But the question I get asked all the time and I also ask myself stays the same: Why are you watching this crab? I could easily answer: Because! But being a true and passionate Media student I will try to find some explanations and discover the phenomenon “Reality Show”. 

Leave a Reply

